Saturday, 14 October 2017

Invisible Women Book Tour

Blooming Fiction, lifestyle blog, Invisible Women Book Tour



Invisible Women
by Sarah Long


Publisher: Zaffre Publishing 

ISBN: 9781785762659 
Number of pages: 400 
Rating: 5/5



Synopsis

Perfect for fans of Allison Pearson, Dawn French and Sophie Kinsella. 

Isn't it about time we talked about YOU? Sandra has a naughty secret. Harriet has been ditched with her ailing mother-in-law one time too many. Tessa is desperate for distraction after her youngest flies the nest for uni. With the big 5-0 around the corner, isn't it about time they put themselves first? After Tessa responds to a late night Facebook message from an old flame, she finds herself impulsively waiting at the airport for a plane from New York. 

Will it reunite her with The One That Got Away, or land her in a heap of trouble? And is this the long-awaited moment Tessa and her friends grab their lives back and start living exactly as they choose? 

A sharp, irreverent and very funny novel for grown-ups. This is what you have been saying about Sarah Long: 'An emotional tale of love, friendship and taking control of your life' 'Intelligent, witty, thought-provoking . . . thoroughly recommended, especially if you're a woman of a certain age' 'Sure to make you giggle' 'A perfect, easy read' 'Funny and emotional . . . so true it's scary!

Review

As my first read from Sarah Long I wasn't sure whether this kind of plot would be my cup of tea. I read loads of stories of disappearing to a new town and there's a hot man who has problems, blah blah blah. But, in the case of Invisible Women the leading ladies are facing that mid term milestone we all dread. Not something I've previously read much of.

I'm thrilled to say that as I closed the book, after turning the last page, I felt compelled to read more by this gifted author. 

Without revealing too much of the ins and outs of Invisible Women the plot basically follows a group of three friends who are all facing challenges in their lives, and not necessarily good ones. Coming together, the women reflect on their lives as they reach 50 and the realisation of where their lives are going sparks interests into how they can change their lives for the better.

Obviously the aspect of getting out of a rut is going to be eventful, and Sarah Long provides some great sub plots which not only accurately match everyday life but they are amusing too. Reading about such real scenarios can be insightful but in Invisible Women it's stuff of humour and giggles. 

Invisible Women is easy reading and great fun to follow. This book is ideal for readers who have no shame of laughing at themselves, or their lives, and have absolutely no issue with laughing at someone else's expense ( secretly ). 

*PR Samples received unless otherwise stated. Some blog posts contain affiliate links.
Share:

No comments

Post a Comment

© Blooming Fiction | All rights reserved.
Blog Design Handcrafted by pipdig